Does ABA count as clinical experience

Hi guys! I’m a 29 year old non-trad career changer. I currently work in the field of behavior analysis. I work as a Board Certified Behavior Analyst in a clinic for children who have autism.

I’ve worked in this field part time for 5 years and full time for three years. I have now become a BCBA which means I’m a supervisor on the clients cases. So I write programs, train employees, oversee implementation of programs, etc. I am trying to determine if this counts as clinical experience. We utilize applied behavior analysis to treat our clients. We bill insurance and are considered medically necessary.

I don’t have other clinical experience at this point (I know I need a variety). But because of this job I have an understanding of dealing with paperwork, insurance, and patients and their families. I’ve also had many personal experiences with MDs, DOs, PAs, and physical therapists.

My 2nd question is this: any suggestions for letters of rec for non-trads? I have some previous professors that I could get letters from but they are not science professors. I can’t get a letter of rec from my supervisor as she hates writing letters of rec so I know it wouldn’t be strong (she would probably download one and just fill in blanks, so it wouldn’t be very personal). I’ve not been able to build relationships with my profs for my prereq courses due to them all being online because of COVID. Thanks!

1 Like

I can’t answer your question, but just wanted to say that I’m in a similar position. :slight_smile: I’m a speech language pathologist working with students with complex communication needs. The premed coursework will take a few years to get through, and I’m wondering if staying at my current job is considered “clinical.”

1 Like