Does an MD make sense?

Hi everyone- I’ve been trying to decide whether medical school is a good choice for me and I can’t seem to make up my mind.
I’m 24 and in the 2nd year of the political science program at Stanford. Most of my work here has been looking at HIV/AIDS, health and development and civil war violence. I like my work and I’m good at it, but there is something missing in all of it. It’s great to be a political scientist, but I am so far removed from the things that I study that I often feel like I’m not exactly sure that I am getting things right. From that point of view, contact with patients and a general knowledge of illness would be nice.
That’s not my only concern, though. I started studying health, not because I found it to be an interesting paradox, or a quirky topic that few people in political science do. I got interested in this because I genuinely care about these topics. I want to do something about them that is concrete. I want to be able to help individuals who are sick, who do suffer; I want to heal them. Policy and research are both important to this. My father, who is a physician, once said that politicians have cured more people than doctors ever have, and I think he’s right. Sewage systems, vaccination plans, mosquito nets and other public health interventions are implemented by doctors but only approved and made possibly by political circumstances and decisions. At the same time, though, I want to be someone who helps those individuals who benefit from these directly.