Does it matter?

Hi, my name is Rob I’m 38 years old, I work as an LPN and I’m planning on taking my basic sciences at a community college. Will this hurt me upon applying to medical school?

Rob, if you search for “community college” you’ll find lots of discussion about this. In general, you would be well-advised to do your science prerequisites at a four-year school. You will have to have a bachelor’s degree anyway, and by far your best tack will be to include the science prereqs in your time at a four-year school.

Mary

• Mary Renard Said:
Rob, if you search for "community college" you'll find lots of discussion about this. In general, you would be well-advised to do your science prerequisites at a four-year school. You will have to have a bachelor's degree anyway, and by far your best tack will be to include the science prereqs in your time at a four-year school.

Mary

I agree with this 100% I think you can do the "Soft stuff" Like english and psych and other things including any remedial math ( A lot of people need precalc classes these days) but save the Bio,Chem and physics for the 4 yr, you have plenty of time for those then.

I absolutely agree. :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Judy

I’m taking all my pre-reqs at a community college, because that’s the only place that offers the sciences at night, since I work full-time and have 2 kids… I plan on applying to both MD and DO schools, so, I hope this shouldn’t hurt my application…

• noor524 Said:
I'm taking all my pre-reqs at a community college, because that's the only place that offers the sciences at night, since I work full-time and have 2 kids.... I plan on applying to both MD and DO schools, so, I hope this shouldn't hurt my application...

It may hurt your chances at a number of schools, Why all the prereqs, is that all you need? If you are doing a full 4 years then you can do so many courses that will not matter.
  • noor524 Said: