does it really take >1 yr to do the prereqs?

On an earlier post of mine I was told premed takes a minimum 2 years to complete. I am hoping that is not absolutely true.

I want to go to a Caribbean medical school, on their websites it looks like they generally require a year of Bio, Chem, Org Chem, Physics, English.

I have a degree already, I don’t have a job and don’t want one and have a few years of living expenses saved up.

I’ve registered for summer biology starting in a month then will take those 5 classes this fall at a community college while applying to a 4 year school to take the rest this Spring, take the MCAT in early summer, and then being in Medical school by fall of 2011, is this possible?

Also, does anyone know if there are there any Carribbean med schools that also teach the prereqs? If I could I’d like to just move down there in Januray if possible.

Thanks

• In reply to:
I've registered for summer biology starting in a month then will take those 5 classes this fall at a community college while applying to a 4 year school to take the rest this Spring, take the MCAT in early summer, and then being in Medical school by fall of 2011, is this possible?

Not really, for a couple of reasons. First, the reason it usually takes more than one year to complete the prereqs is because of the chemistry requirements. The vast majority of schools require the completion of general chemistry (or at least the first semester) as a prerequisite for organic chemistry. In order to do them in less than two academic years, you'd need to take at least one of them in a summer session - either gen chem this summer and then organic over the regular academic year, or gen chem over the academic year and organic next summer. In general, doing either chemistry over a summer session is brutal (especially with labs), but organic chemistry is exceptionally brutal in a summer session.