Doing the TA thing

Does TAing a science class make any difference on the applications? It looks like I am going to TA intro to bio next semester.
PS. I feel like my transformation into the most anal person I know is complete as I got an A- in bio II and am torn between being happy and or really annoyed with myself.

sounds like a “leadership experience” winner - developing skills in explaining complex concepts in simpler language - etc. go for it.

QUOTE (Calvin -- in a box by the river @ May 12 2003, 03:50 PM)
Does TAing a science class make any difference on the applications? It looks like I am going to TA intro to bio next semester.

As an undergrad, I was a teaching assistant for comparative vertebrate anatomy and biology II. In grad school, I taught or TAaed: Biology I and II labs and lectures, as well as Comparative Anatomy and Population Biology (Biology III). For me, being a TA required a lot more time than it appeared on the surface. While TAing is a fabulous opportunity, I would suggest you have a clear idea of what is expected of you.
One thing the TA position may give you is a strong candidate for writing a letter of recommendation. The professor for whom you TA will probably get to know you well. More than how it appears on you AMCAS - that letter of recommendation will be what you want from a TAing experience.
I can also tell you that beyond what TAing has done for my CV or AMCAS is what it’s given me in self-confidence, leadership skills (as Lisa mentioned), and a very thorough understanding of the science. In being a TA, I developed a sense of responsibility about myself, for my knowledge, for the way I convey information and interact with students. I condensed all of my teaching assistant positions to one experience on my AMCAS. However that one tiny section does not adequately communicate how momentous my TA experiences have been.