DO's working abroad

I’m not an especially competitive med school candidate. I had a 3.2 as an undergrad in an unrelated field, and am now in a Post Bacc program after working in the fortune 500 world for 3 years. So far as a Post Bacc student I have a 4.0. I haven’t taken the MCAT’s yet, but I will be studying hard, and I usually do very well on standardized tests in general.

I want to study emergency medicine, and work abroad after medical school. I have spoken with a firm that does recruiting for positions in Australia, and they told me that they don’t accept osteopathic doctors. I don’t know if that is common to other countries or not.

I know that for competitive residencies, DOs from American universities will generally get preference over MDs from the Carribbean or abroad. In short, a Carribbean MD will help me working abroad later in life, but a DO from the states will help me get a better residency. Which one would be more advantageous given my goals? Is there anybody that has a DO that has worked abroad? How significant of a barrier is the DO title when working on foreign soil? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I don’t have any particular advice on the working abroad thing, although it seems like I read on SDN that there is some movement to recognize DOs in some countries. The big problem is that in some countries, what they call an osteopathic physician is equivalent to our chiropractors.

However, I think it’s a little early in the game to be counting yourself out as a competitive candidate. Depending on your EC’s and your MCAT, you have an excellent chance at being a competitive candidate, despite your initial undergrad GPA as long as you continue to do well on your MCAT.

I can’t help out too much with the overseas thing, but would love to know more.