Dr. Librarian

Hi! I’m very happy to have found this site. Currently I am an academic and public librarian and want to become a physician. I had always wanted to become a doctor but when I started college my family had some difficulties. As the oldest of five kids I had to help my mother out who was struggling with the end of a 20 year marriage. At the time the youngest was three years old, so on top of taking care of the kids I was a full-time undergraduate, and I was working two part-time jobs.

A science major would not have worked so I became a history major, one of my part-time jobs was in a library, so I accidentally fell into that field. The college I attended offered the MLIS so I went ahead and completed a Masters in Library and Information Science. This career helped me help my family and it allowed me to survive financially. I enjoy being a librarian but I can’t see myself doing this for the rest of my life.

A year and a half ago I started thinking about the medical field, and figured why not volunteer at a hospital. I was lucky and was given the volunteer position of surgical apprentice in a women’s hospital. I loved every moment of it, the next step was trying to find a post-bacc program. I found three, one was way to expensive, but two were decently priced. I have applied and am waiting on an admissions response. Currently I am taking the General Biology course at another school. I wanted to get a head start. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you. Muchas Gracias!

Hello, and welcome to OPM! This site has been a wonderful resource for me in the past several years, and I hope it to be the same for you.

I also did a formal post-bac program. Having been out of school for several years, I found the structure (specific advising for post-bac students, being around others in the same situation as I was, a committee letter in the end, etc.) to be quite helpful. Good luck as you await your admissions decision!