Dumb question about student debt

So, at one of my interviews, the guide was telling us how we should avoid going into too much debt while applying to med school. Hmmm… He said if we maxed out our credit cards, that would make it much harder to be approved for student loans. Well, I have 2 questions that I wondered if anyone could answer:
1) What if I just get a credit card with a higher limit? Then I won’t be “maxed out”… But somehow I can’t imagine I’m the only person who’s thought of that. Do they do some kind of debt-to-income ratio? In that case, will they use my income from this year or next year (when it would be zero if I start med school)?
2) Do federal student loans decline potential borrowers because of high credit card debt? Or do only private lenders do that? (Most likely I’ll need both anyway, but I’m just curious).
I don’t see how I can apply to medical school, period, without taking on some credit card debt. It’s so expensive!

Okay, I am not an expert on med school financial aid, but I can safely say I have been blessed with financial aid for undergrad and federal loans are never based on credit - only need. Which means you have to prove you need it by submitting an application and hard copy of your previous year’s tax return. And then sometimes you are selected for review and you have to submit your tax return to your school for verification as well. Hope that helps.

I don’t ever being asked how much debt I was already carrying when applying for financial aid. That is important for mortgages and car loans, but not for school money. I sometimes think that might not be the best way to run things, but it’s the way it works. Still, is a good idead to keep those credit cards as low as possible as it isn’t going to get easier to pay them off for a while.

Quote: