Eclectic Resume?

Greetings All!

Newbie here who’s keen on making a life/career switch to medicine. Problem is my biography/cv/resume I fear will leave much to be desired by admission committees. Here’s a sampling of my background:

Insurance Examiner: 3 years

Residential Painter: 5 years

Bus Driver: Part time 5 years and counting

College Instructor for the US Navy: Part time 1 year and counting

Political Researcher: 1.5 years Washington D.C.

This is 3/4 of what I’ve done work wise over the last 15 years since I received my BA. (I also have an MA in international Relations and was accepted to a PhD program in the UK but decided against it for a host of reasons.}

My primary interest in pursuing medicine is that I’ve weighed the pros and cons of a Phd in clinical psychology vs. the psychiatrist route and I find myself definitely pulled toward psychiatry. I am fascinated my psychopharmacology and would love to help the sailors and marines I’ve taught and lived with during my brief time as a college instructor.

While I have zero volunteer experience in medical/social services, et cetera, and I am pushing 39, I do have the advantage - I guess - of knowing or at least having grown up in home where my father was a practicing physician and my mother was a registered nurse. (Edit: I am not currently on speaking terms with the old man, that’s one of the reasons for my visit to this site.)

Gosh, I guess I’m poised and ready to start down the pre-med path, err, I mean the post-bacc path.

Well, that’s pretty much the basics for now, and I guess I’ll throw this out there for anyone to comment on. Primarly, I am concerned about my eclectic mix of work. Would the adcom people roll their eyes?

Thanks folks!

Best Wishes to all!

BusDriver2Do

Hello, BusDrive2DO. First off, welcome to the group! Thanks for sharing your experiences and a little of your decision to pursue medicine.