Economics to Medicine

Hello everyone,

I need your advice. I’m on the verge of changing my career. I have a Masters degree in Economics(3.73 GPA). I have a potential of making +100K within few years. But being a surgeon has always been my dream for as long as I can remember. My heart tells me that it is time to purse my dream but I am having a hard time figuring out if it is a wise and attainable goal.

I am 30 years old. I did my bachelor’s in economics(3.25 GPA) in a foreign country. I don’t have any volunteering/shadowing experience at the moment. The last time I took biology is in high school. I was good at it then but I feel like graduate school developed my critical thinking skill much more than regurgitating vast information. I am not married. Is it wise to start from the scratch given my situation? Please help before I make a costly mistake. I would appreciate if you give my advice on how to get started as well.

To answer one of part of your question, if pursuing medicine is an “attainable goal”, I would say, yes. You have already admitted that being a surgeon has been a “dream for as long as” you can remember. The drive and dream is already there.

To fulfill that desire, you would have to take the basic sciences, if you have not already done so, get some health care exposure and experience, study for and take the MCAT, get letters of recommendation, submit an application, and hope for the best. Prior scholastic endeavors, your age and marital status should not work against you, and may actually provide you the time and freedom to do embark on this path.