EMT certification?

Hey guys, quick question…I’m just plain fed up, disgusted and tired of my job (I work at Blue Shield of California and yeah insurance isn’t my thing) so I’m planning to take the EMT Basic class at my college in the Fall and I’m just wondering…if I can’t find a job opening as an EMT, will the certification and the class still be fairly useful knowledge? I would imagine it would be since it’s directly relevant but just wondering how much of an impact it’ll make!

I am a 15 year veteran of EMS as an EMT and I can tell you that if you do not use it, it is worthless to you. Medical schools have said that just because you are an EMT you are not outstanding since so many applicants have become EMTs just to write it down.

If you cannot find a job, there are other avenues that you can pursue. To begin with, there is always patient transport. It is not all glory but you will interact with a lot of patients AFTER they have been treated. You can work in the emergency room or you can volunteer with a FD.

Don’t just get it for the sake of gettig it. It is not easy.

I would investigate the job market for EMT’s in your area. Pay can vary widely, but most private services don’t pay very much (and as a green EMT, you’re unlikely to get a job with a public/county service unless you know somebody).

As Gabe eluded, EMT certification seems to be the “in” thing for pre-meds to currently do. So, holding an EMT certification is not going to gain you any advantages in applying. I was rather amazed at the number of fellow interviewee’s who had the cert, but had never used it and were SO impressed that I actually several years of experience. If you aren’t going to be able to use the training either as a volunteer or because you can’t get a job, its not worth it.