Engineer Turned Physician... What do I do?

Introduction

Hi all,

I have found myself in a bit of a predicament and would really (really) love some advice.

Just to give a little background… Right now, I’m an engineer at a large aerospace and defense company (100,000+ employees). I studied mechanical engineering with minors in electrical and aerospace engineering. I graduated a little over a year ago in May of 2019 and have been working in the industry ever since.

In 2015, I shattered my ankle and needed surgery to repair the fibula, deltoid ligaments, and syndesmosis. I became enthralled with the procedure and researched everything I could about it from publications to videos of the procedure itself. I didn’t think much about my borderline obsession over this event, but looking back, it was definitely a sign… Fast forward to 2019, major life events led to the realization that I want to pursue medicine (I’ll spare the details of these events).

After doing hours of research on how to get into medical school, let alone as a non-trad, I started volunteering at a local ED. I volunteered from January to March of this year, then COVID put a swift end to that. I found another gig at a non-profit clinic starting this week that is more relevant to my values and motives. This clinic is also more hands-on with more patient interaction.

This experience has solidified my desire to become a doctor. That said, I have a few courses of action that I would love input on.

Stats

I finished my BS with:

• cGPA of 3.88/4.00
  • BCPM of 3.86

I have not taken the MCAT. 30ish hours of clinical volunteering (more to come).

The Problem