etiquette for shadowing and/or interviews

Dear fellow pre-meds:
Does anyone have advice on etiquette for shadowing and/or interviews? I am in my first year of premed coursework, and am exploring my possibilities for a career transition to medicine. As part of this exploratory process, I have scheduled several sit-down meetings and 1-day shadowing experiences with doctors whose practices and research parallel some of my own interests (e.g. PM&R). I need to make the most of these meetings, since some of the doctors are on faculty at schools that I am interested in, and/or may be able to write LORs in the future. I’d appreciate feedback on any of the following questions:
· Should I send my CV in advance, or is a more general letter of introduction enough (I don’t want to look like I’m angling for a job or anything)?
· In shadowing, when there are patients or other doctors present, how will I know when it is OK to ask questions and when to keep my mouth shut (don’t want to be a nuisance)?
· Are they any topics I should avoid (e.g. HIPPA)?
· Should I offer to pay for lunch?
· What should I wear (e.g. scrubs vs. business attire)?
· What form should my “thank you” take (e.g. note on personal stationary, business letter, small gift, etc.)
Any other tips from wizened veterans of such induction rituals would be sincerely appreciated!
RMG, Dr. 2B

Hi there,
You can contact your local medical society in your locale for a list of physicians who are willing to have pre-med students shadow. Once you have this list, you may call and set up a time that works for you both.
At the time that you set up your shadowing experience, your physician mentor will lay out the ground rules. What you wear will depend on the type of physician that you shadow and his or her practice for that day.