Exploring a MD/DO... help!

I’m new here, and so glad to have found this site. I graduated with a science degree in 2000 at a competitive school, and while I was interested in medicine and took all the pre-med requisite courses (and had around a 3.5 GPA), I wasn’t sure about my passion for it, and frankly not mature enough for that commitment. Instead I got a MPH in health management, and have been in the field ever since, working in health IT, management consulting, and currently working at a hospital managing a department. But after 17 years of working in healthcare, I want to move from being in the support services and management to being a care provider, and looking to explore getting a MD or a DO. I should also mention that I am married and have 2 young kids, so certainly this is a decision that would disrupt all our lives.

I know my coursework is outdated, but what options should I pursue? I contacted one post-bacc program near me and they said I would qualify for their 2 year career changer program and would have to retake all my old courses, and that a lot of schools want to see all course requirements done within the last 5 years. I really don’t want to take 2 years to retake coursework, and have been reading about DIY post bacc’s but am unclear on how many courses to take and what courses to take for that matter to make me a more attractive candidate. I’m looking at the websites of schools near me (I live in Southern California) but it seems unclear.

Also, would I need to take any extracurriculars? I work in healthcare, and while I’m not a provider, I know a lot of the ins and outs, sacrifices and dedication needed. Its been a long while, but in the past (pre-marriage, pre-kids) I volunteered for hospice and enjoyed it. Extracurriculars would be tough with kids, so I’m hoping to avoid it if possible.

I’m just starting this process, so any advice is welcome!

Here are a few things to consider: