Extra classes to raise GPA to 3.0 or study for MCAT?

Hello,

I am a non-traditional student with a bachelors and a cumulative GPA of 2.7. I started to do a DIY post-bacc and I have completed all the Med School pre-reqs, including Biochem, but not the recommended extras like Genetics and Microbiology. For the post-bacc I have completed 32 credits hours with a 3.9 GPA, that brings my cumulative GPA to 2.90. To bring that up to 3.0 for the 2021 application cycle I would need to take 14 credit during the fall and 14 credits during the spring. I do have a full time job that I cannot quit until I get accepted into Medical school, that means if I take 14 credits per semester that would leave very little time to study for the MCAT.

My question: what would be a better use of my limited free time, take fewer credits per semester and study for the MCAT, potentially getting a higher score and apply to medical school with a 2.9ish GPA or aim for the 3.0 GPA and a potentially lower MCAT score?

Regards

Hi!

I am in the same boat as you (especially GPA) so these are things I also question myself on. I am currently taking introductory classes for Bio and Chem as well as pre-calculus at a CC since it has been over 10 years since taking those classes in high school so I gotta make sure my brain is ready for the pre-med reqs lol. Do you mind sharing how you did a DIY post bacc? I am not sure which I should do (formal/DIY) and money is always a huge concern. I wanted to take the pre-reqs at a university, is that what you did?

When I looked at the curriculum for formal post-baccs I calculated my GPA to be 3.5 at most if I were to get a 4.0 on post bacc classes so that isn’t that great of a GPA either. To answer your question (in my opinion as someone in the same boat as you), I think you should aim for the higher GPA. More so because 3.0 is typically the cut off to so many graduate programs these days.

Hey,