Extracurriculars if working full time after college into a DIY post-bacc

Hi everyone,

Non-traditional student/career changer here. I completed my BA back in 2012 and went right into an MA program so I’m not coming from a science background. Shortly after I started working full time as a first responder, which I’ve been doing for the past seven years. I just began taking my prereq courses for med school.

While I did participate in extracurricular activities in college and into graduate school, is it even relevant anymore? I know pre-med advisors will tell you to only list extracurriculars after high school, but at this point in my life, as a 32 year old non-trad career changer, are college extracurriculars worth mentioning? I feel like most of the traditional qualities we get from extracurriculars are still present today (leadership, teamwork, work ethic, time management, social interaction, etc.), but I think I can articulate those qualities from solely working full-time while completing a DIY post bacc, getting clinical experience, and shadowing.

Any thoughts?

From what I understand, extracurricular activities don’t expire so I don’t see a reason why you couldn’t list them. However, space is limited on the applications (specifically the AMCAS). As such, it seems that the root question you are asking is, “How do I determine which activities to list and which ones I leave out?”

In addressing this question, I think there is another question to use to evaluate each activity: “How does this activity fit into the story I am telling in my application?” You could also rephrase this as, “what am I communicating about myself with this activity (e.g. interests, work ethic, etc.)?” Not all of your activities need to be healthcare related. But they should tell the ad comms something about you.