FAILURE: WHAT IF YOU FAIL A PREREQ? any future?

I am crushed today. I just learned that I’ve failed Physics I. With an F. I can I guess repeat it, but I’ve a bunch of W’s on my transcript as it is. I have A’s in Bio I (hon) and II, but I’m miserable at Math, even after a lot of remedial work, (and B’s in Pre Calc and ‘college’ Algebra). I am just too depressed right now, even to cry. I have a lot of life experience, I KNOW I would make an outstanding doctor. However, I have Discalculia and ADHD, and I am AFRAID of physics. My question is this… Even if I can somewhow manage to get an A on a repeat, and bring my GPA back to life, Even if I get A’s in Organic Chem, and do wonderfully on the Verbal, and Bio sections of the MCAT… Will anyone accept a 42 year old applicant to medical school with an undergrad degree in Art, and a 2.8 gpa, who until this class, had a 3.2 GPA in my science prereqs…
Can anyone come back from this?
Even though it’s all I ever wanted to do, I never tried to go to med school when I was in my twenties because of my struggle with the math/physics… Thing that really frustrates me is that I can get the conceptual questions, but the calculations cause me to freeze up. It’s not that I can’t do them, it’s that I am petrified… This is a struggle. The math I thought I could never improve at, and I did, so I know I can somehow… But is there even a point at this stage?
I have decent ‘experience’ and I will complete EMT-B class this summer – so I have a lot of positives, but grades aren’t going to be it… What does physics have to do with being a good doctor anyway? I’d crawl through a crocodile pit if it would help me get in (just kidding) – but I think that the medical school train may have just left the building without me…
signed,
Discouraged in DC
Leah
PS. Don’t worry, I won’t do anything dumb – I know what life is worth, but I’m VERY VERY unhappy. Giving up a dream once is hard. But pissing it away a second time because of fear is just ugly.

Quote: