Fairly old guy seeks advice

I just stumbled on this site and am thankful something like this exists! It’s been a dream of mine since I was 14 years old to become a physician. Now, I am almost 42 years old and figured I was far too old to pursue my dream. Perhaps, I can be convinced this is not an impossible dream after all.

I have a BA in economics and an MBA in finance. I was a good student as an undergrad and a grad student. My GPA’s were 3.3 for both levels. I’ve had a very diverse work experience and a unique background.

I know I have to return to meet the pre-med requirements. I noticed there may be some programs out here in SoCal that would fulfill those requirements. My biggest concerns are: 1. The cost of it all, from both a monetary perspective and a psychological perspective. I already have $100k in debt from B-school! 2. What are my chances of really getting in to a program out here in SoCal? I can’t move. I have 2 kids and am re-married. My wife is already telling me this is a ridiculous dream. But, I am not one to give up so easily.

Anyone have some words of encouragement or discouragement?

THANKS!

C

You won’t find many words of discouragement here. And if you’ve been reading the posts, you will see your situation is not unique. For most non-trads, it will come down to persistence, planning and a willingness to accept the sacrifices that you (and your significant others) will need to make for you to attend medical school.