Family Nurse practioner to MD route

Hello,

I am a 34 yr old mother of two young boys 2 and 6. I have been a family nurse practitioner for the last 5 years and recently made up my mind to finally follow my dreams of going to med school. I recently enrolled a local CC t re-take my pre-reqs as my undergrad science GPA was not so good 2.9 because I withdrew late from my chem 2 class and switched to nursing and received an F grade. I did much better in grad school with a 3.8 cumulative GPA.

I feel motivated to do this but I constantly worry about the impact it will have on my family especially my kids. I also feel pressured to keep it as a secret because of the responses I have already received from some friends and family member who believe being an NP is just the same as an MD just a cheaper route. What are my chances of making it so far, what do I need to do that I probably am not doing? Are my undergraduate days going to hunt me?

I welcome and appreciate feedback on anyone in a the same or similar boat as I am.

Thanks

Liz

Your undergraduate days will haunt yes, but an upward trend and reinvention will make up for it. You’re looking at 2-3 years of solid As in science before even thinking about applying. If you just did a BSN before NP school, then you can definitely fix that science GPA since you’re missing your physics and chem series.