Feeling a little shaky

A little about myself: 36 years old, graduated with a B.A. in Psychology in 2004 - 3.27 GPA. I work at the school I graduated from and spoke with the head of our health professions advisory committee today. I told him I’m interested in going back to school for the pre-med, post-bacc route. He told me several times that I am not at all the normal med school applicant(he used to be the dean of a med school adcom). He made it clear that although legally it can’t exist, there is definitely an age bias. He also told me that even if I get all A’s in the pre-med classes and a good MCAT score, I might not get into any med school. This has really made me reconsider taking pre-med classes. I thought that if I got mostly A’s in pre-med classes and a great MCAT along with a plentiful amount of medical volunteer experience that some school in Texas would take me. Any thoughts?

Probably a reason he is a “former” adcom member…

If I believed that age is a “no go”, I would not be here and now.

Ask others

Richard

Well its a load of BS, I’m currently 43 MSIII

I have to tell you I hate these ADCOM’s know it all’s, how in the heck can 1 former ADCOM memember know what all of schools will do? I have to admit there are some schools that are more oriented to older students.

Dont give in to this kinda crap!

Bill.

Well, I have to agree with the sentiments of Richard and Bill. On this forum alone you will find many who are either in medical school, have just been accepted to medical school or have finished medical school (residency, etc.).