Finally Accepted!

I have no idea how long I’ve been snooping around this site, holding on to others’ stories for inspiration when I was beyond discouraged.

The short version: I’ll be 48 this fall. Mom of four, grandma of two, serious challenges early on in life, finally returned to college in 2004 determined to see if I could actually pursue this dream of becoming a doctor. For the next three years I simply wouldn’t quit. My last ‘math’ class was 9th grade algebra in 1975, until I took Accelerated Precalc, and cried when I got a B. No science at all until 2004. Anyway, I graduated 2007 with a BS in Bio, a 3.497 gpa (yes I put all the numbers - dang missing honors!), and a 27 MCAT before completing Physics.

Determined to retake the MCAT and score competitively, I studied for five months, scoring 33-37 on practice tests. Then our home burned down, and my son and I barely made it out alive, ten days before the test. I couldn’t do it - just…couldn’t…do it.

I applied three times. Finally this past spring had an admission counselor tell me about the Caribbean schools. He was such an encouragement. Recommended to me that I apply for this fall just to see what would happen. So I applied six months ago, and today received ‘the’ phone call.

So I laughed, screamed, cried for a bit. What a miracle! This definitely has not set in yet.

I’ll be attending St George’s, starting with the Foundations semester in August 2009, then start “actual” medical school January 2010.

I really need to thank you all on this forum. I’ve been afraid to hope, almost too tired to keep trying - but not quite! And I am just… plain… thrilled to be finally able to fulfill this amazing dream called “medicine”.