Finances taking a toll

It seems as though I am running in circles, trying to make ends meet while staying in school and realizing the cost of daycare is going to exacerbate our financial situation. I have a useless degree that has actually cost me more applications than it is worth and so I struggle to pay bills by working at a fast food joint for pennies. I’m terrified at this point that my dreams of med school may be dashed for nothing more than financial reasons as I see our debt to income ratio steadily increase and yet, at our current state, I see no way to quit school because student loans will come out of deferrment and, Mc Donalds is not going to pay off that debt at all. This truely has become tough for a family barely teetering on the border of poverty level. We qualify for most assistance programs out there with both of us working and yet I try hard to use as few as possible, knowing to become dependent upon them will make things worse.

I understand there are programs out there to assist with actual med school, but currently it’s the PRE med that is the problem financially, and search as I might I can’t seem to find scholarships/grants or any financial helps for our situation other than loans. Please tell me there is something out there. Goodness, I’d be happy with a better paying job, but the economy as it is just isn’t looking for someone with my availability. I’ve been turned down for jobs on account of my class schedule and even the fact that I have a religious undergrad degree in spite of me being anything but (was once told I would not be able to handle the cussing that took place in the work zone with my background lol). Military life is beginning to look more appealing, and yet I swore I’d never go that route. Hmmm…Ok. Brain storm with me before my husband becomes convinced we will be living in a cardboard box for the duration of my education.