Financial Aid not available

Hey ya’ll. I have a BA in philosophy. I only have a few sciences classes required more medical school. So I decided to go back to college and get the rest of the classes done. However, no college will give me financial aid to do this because I have a degree already. Are there any scholarships out there? I am an EMT and don’t earn much money. I am willing to pay for school but I would also like to eat! Economic reasons have moved far from post bacc programs so I am just attending a local 4 year college.

I actually had the same issue. The university I wanted to attend did not admit students for 2nd bachelor’s degree, which means I could only attend as a postbacc/graduate non-degree, but no financial aid available for non-degree students. But some schools do allow 2nd bachelor’s. Maybe look for another school? Usually, the smaller, less known state universities do allow 2nd bachelor students. At least, this is the case in Illinois.

In my case, I’m going to live in a box and eat can food for next 2 years so I can pay for school

Not true - you can borrow money.

From the Federal Student Aid Handbook, page 77 http://ifap.ed.gov/sfahandbooks/attachme nts/0809FSAHbkVol1.pdf

http://ifap.ed.gov/sfahandbooks/attachme nts/0809FSAHbkVol1.pdf

:

• In reply to:
Preparatory coursework

A student may apply for a Stafford or PLUS loan for coursework the school has documented is necessary for him to enroll in an eligible

program. The courses must be part of an eligible program otherwise offered by the school, though the student does not have to be in that program. If enrolled at least half time in these prerequisite courses, he is eligible for loans for one consecutive 12-month period (not per program) beginning on the first day of the loan period. If the period of preparatory courses spans more than one academic year, the student may receive multiple loans.