financing medical school

First - happy holidays all.

Second - I am just curious to how the post-bacs are financing medical school. I am over on SDN reading about financial aid but is there anything I should be considering since I am not a traditional student? I remember when starting my post-bac I had to continue to payoff student loans from undergrad days (even though I started my post-bac less than a year after graduating college) because I was not a matriculated student or fulltime or taking the courses at the same school I graduated from. Will I have to continue to do that while in medical school and if so how?

What about my car note and credit card bill (its only one card but its 10k+)? What do I do about that?

Also, anyone know any other resources to look for advice besides, fastweb, sdn and of course here?

• obesedude Said:
I remember when starting my post-bac I had to continue to payoff student loans from undergrad days (even though I started my post-bac less than a year after graduating college) because I was not a matriculated student or fulltime or taking the courses at the same school I graduated from. Will I have to continue to do that while in medical school and if so how?

No, you should not have to continue to payoff undergrad loans. Once med 1 actually starts and you show up for the first day, your school will have to fill out a form verifying that you are enrolled as a full-time student which should put your loans into deferral status. You will have to continue to make payments on them until you start med school AND your lender approves the deferral. If you are right on top of that and get the forms in ASAP, you shouldn't have to make more than one payment after starting med school. The loans will stay in deferment until you graduate, although you may have to fill out a new deferral form every year.

• Quote:
What about my car note and credit card bill (its only one card but its 10k+)? What do I do about that?