First Time Visiting with a Cadaver--Wow--

I was on a tour of the school of choice that I would LOVE to attend. I am just getting into my pre-requs so it will be a few years…but I wanted to tour and give myself a visual of something to look forward to–something to charge me up.
I was thrilled because I got a tour of the lab and saw two students who were hired to dissect the cadavers for the incoming class. I spoke with them for about ten minutes and they showed me all of the different cadavers they were working on. Suprisingly, the visuals did not bother me. I was fascinated. This was my first time even near a dead body, let alone a body that was preserved and opened up.
The one thing that bothered me was looking at the thigh muscle…all I could think of was how much it looked like meat–specifically chicken. UGH I was fine until I got home and hubby made pizza and then I got SICK.
I am over it–and looking forward to continuing on my journey…to those of you whom have dissected–do you ever get used to it? If so, how? I am not particularly squeamish, so this surprised me.
Thanks
Erica

Yep, I thought the same when I toured the PA school during my interview. The muscles looked the same as the muscles of the cat cadavers we were working on in undergrad anatomy and I did not eat chicken for a year afterwards.
(And I work off and on to help my in my husband’s vet clinic… the live tissue is just different than the preserved tissue.) But then the blood, pus, bones, etc. have no impact on my appetite.