For those 40+ that have decided to pursue medicine...

Had you found yourself wavering in the beginning…I scared to death…to tackle this dream? Since I was young, I’ve always been drawn towards medicine…I didn’t have much support when I was younger, and I’m sure that now won’t be really any different. I had contemplated nursing a few times, but it’s not the area of medicine I see myself in. I have been working in the medical field for the last 16-17 years in the administrative area, and I just started working at a hospital on the cardiac floor as a cardiac monitoring tech/health unit coordinator 3 nights a week. So I actually have the time, but I’m finding myself very anxious whether I’m too late.

Anyone else find themselves severely questioning themselves in doing this?

Kris

Not 40 but I questioned myself for the past 7 years! I’ve gone from physician to network engineer to healthcare administrator with a MBA to PA to MD to PA to DO to PhD to PA to MD…

I went so far as to apply to PA school and went and met with a program director. During filling out the app I could not, with all honesty, answer the most basic of question…“Why PA?”

I’ve been in medicine since 1990 and I can’t continue to run from it and neither should you. Like others have said it’s a calling. You can run but you can’t hide…at least without looking over your shoulder about not having giving it everything you’ve got.

I have several ways to respond to this