Foreign Bachelor's Degree

Hi All,

I have a bachelors degree in Computer Engineering from Manipal University,India.

Ironically,some of you will recognize Manipal as one of the top universities of India for medical school.

Anyways, I am now in the US, and will be getting a green card soon. Since Im pretty much well settled here, I would like to study medicine in the US.

I’m given to understand that the fact that my bachelor’s degree is not from the US could pose problems to secure admission to some med schools.

Is there anyway around this?

I was planning to do Phy/Chem/Bio as a post bac as a non degree seeking student from a 4 year accredited university. Will that be sufficient US academic experience ? Or do I have to do a formal full time premed post bac program? Or is that insufficient too?!?

Can anyone advise on what can be done to get around the foreign bachelor’s degree issue.

Thanks,

Are you eligible for financial aid as a foreign student? That may determine if you declare a major or not. Financial aid deems you must declare a major, which means, at least on paper, that you are degree seeking.

By the way, welcome.

There is somewhere a list of accredited foreign institutions. If your degree is from there it will not matter. I think the US Dept of Education has a link to it.

Once you have your green card I think you can get financial aid. Again, the Dept of Education should be able to help with that one.

Thanks for the responses.

However, assuming that I don’t need financial aid, do I still have to do my bachelors again?

Or in other words, what do I have to to do to get US experience on my academic record?

Will a formal full time pre med post bac program achieve that?

Will a part time pre med post bac program achieve that?

What will ?

I’m not very keen on spending 4 years on a bachelors degree again just to get the US experience stamp on my academic record.

Thanks,