Forgot to ask this...

I want to stay here in Nevada and become a doctor. Now I currently live in Las Vegas. The allopathic school is in Reno (an 8hr drive to the north) while the osteopathic school is in Henderson.

The school in Reno is public and the annual tuition (minus living expenses) is $15k because I’m a resident of the state. They also give admission preference to Nevada residents. Just assuming my annual living expenses would be $20k that totals $35k per year.

Touro, the DO school in Henderson is $45k, adding living expenses of $15k this is $60k per year. A plus is that Touro has a fast-track program with UNLV in which the 4th year at UNLV and the 1st at Touro are one in the same. I was told that once in the fast-track program you’re in at Touro.

Now my dilemma. Shell out $35k per year and spend two years away in Reno (the last two are done in Las Vegas) and go to UNR is option 1. All this assumes I get in at Reno. Four year total: $140k (minus interest & undergrad loans of course).

Option 2 is take my advisor’s advice and jump on the fast-track and go to Touro. This of course costs the $60k per year. Fast-track students are a lock for a spot by completing the three year course of study and getting at least a 25 on the MCAT. Four year total: $240k.

I want to keep this scenario as simple as possible. I understand there are grants and scholarships. Those would most likely be equal from both institutions (CoA over $5,500 at both, same EFC).

My question is which school? Note that to myself there is absolutely ZERO difference between a DO and an MD. That’s certainly not an issue. The issue for me is the debt. $140k at Reno and away from home for 2 years or $240k to be right here. My living expenses are lessened here because I wouldn’t have to maintain a separate household like I would in Reno. As of right now I have a wife but no kids. My age at matriculation would be 38. That’s fine by me but just want to give you that info as well.