Formal or DIY post bacc??

Hi everyone!

I recently heard about OPM and am looking for some advice. I’m working out some options for my future and would like some advice/outside input.

About me: I’m in my final year of a B.S. in music, 3.3 GPA, zero prereq courses taken. I made the final decision to pursue medicine early this year, but decided it would be best to finish out my degree.

I’m considering either doing a formal post bacc or taking the courses on my own next year. The expense of a formal post bacc is most daunting to me, plus I don’t have the required 3.5 GPA or any experience/shadowing that would make up for it (yet.) Has anyone started out DIY and then enrolled in a formal program later on? Was it worth it? The MedPrep program at UMich is the only one I’m considering. Has anyone here gone through their program? They mention linkage with their med school but there’s no information on their site about it.

I’m already $70k in the hole with undergrad and that’s what freaks me out the most concerning future education.

Thanks in advance!

I was/am in a somewhat similar position as you, scared of debt, interested in switching to a career in medicine but not having any clinical experience to put on my application to a formal post-bac program. I decided to just start taking prereqs as a DIY thing, and start volunteering at the hospital and seeking shadowing opportunities at the same time. I liked this approach because it allowed me to get started right away. This was also the right path for me because I wasn’t 100% sure about becoming a doctor, and I wanted the flexibility to decide on PA or other options along the way, too.

Most formal post-bac programs specify that you can only enroll in their program if you’ve taken none (or very few) of the med school prerequisites. So that makes it tricky to start your post-bac as a DIY thing and then apply to a formal post-bac part way through. So you may be stuck with DIY once you start that way.