Former nurse, PhD, with no premed

I graduated from my RN program (in the UK) in 2008, worked in ICU for 3 years, got my PhD in health policy from UCSF, and then have worked on and off in health research (but non clinical) between raising a family.
I don’t have any of the traditional science prereqs. My PhD wasn’t clinically focused, more social science/policy.

If I can get a good MCAT score does it matter that I don’t have the traditional premed courses?

The science pre requisites (bio/chem/phys/etc) are usually hard requirements even though some schools now are saying that they have no specific “required” coursework. They’ll say things like “a strong applicant has a background in XYZ sciences”, which is code for “you need these classes or we’ll probably throw your app in the garbage.”

These prereq courses are hard requirements, there’s no getting around it. An 18yo fresh grad and a 40yo 100 paper phd researcher both have to go through the same system, and are looked at through the same lens. All requirements are mandatory for all applicants.

But not every medical school requires them, some of them “recommend” that you have them. My question is, what does that translate to in real terms in the context of non-traditional students?

Two things here

#1 – If you have not taken the pre-requisite courses for medical school what makes you think you will score well on the MCAT, even with months of study? It is often recommended that students study at least a total of 300 hours before taking the MCAT, and that is having already taken bio/chem/orgo/phys/biochem. If you are learning the material for the first time just for the MCAT, you are in for a rude awakening.