From Engineer to Physician

Hey everyone, I’m new to the site and thought I’d come in to say hi and get some general advice on my plans.

A little about myself:

I’m a 26 year old RF design engineer interested in pursuing medicine. I graduated with a degree in Electrical Engineering and a minor in Web Technologies. In college I worked for a startup as a front end web developer. I didn’t think the startup was the right decision for my career and left when I got an offer for my current job. I’ve been with the same company since 2014 and although I don’t hate my job, I just can’t picture myself doing it in the long run. I don’t feel like I’m really making a significant impact in people’s lives and the world. I want to do something where the work that I’d be doing would be helping someone directly. It’s something that I think I’ve always wanted to do but was steered in a different direction because of what I thought was more practical for me.

My plans:

I made my decision to pursue medicine just a few months ago in April. Ever since then I’ve mainly just been planning things out, gathering information, and looking for volunteer work. Here’s what I have so far at a high level:

1. get some clinical experience in a hospital/free clinic
  2. participate in community service projects and events
  3. get into (formal) post bacc program (where I’ll participate in research) - planning to apply for Fall 2018 semester
  4. med school, residency, etc.

My concerns: