From nursing to...

Hello everyone!

I’m new here, and it seems as though I’ve found a great forum. This seems to be a much more supportive environment than some of the other forums I’ve come across and I’m glad to be here!

So…a bit about me:

I’m about to graduate an accelerated BSN program (I have a second BS degree) at a well known Florida university. I chose nursing after several years of working in social services, planning to go on to this school’s Family Nurse Practitioner program. I was confident that I’d made the right decision by going into nursing, as I appreciate nursing’s philosophies about care, but have reached somewhat of an existential crisis now. My education has left me longing for more. Much more…

While I continue to feel that nurse practitioners (and midlevel providers in general, including PA’s) are incredibly valuable members of the healthcare team, I’m no longer certain about my decision for graduate studies. Frankly, I do not feel that I would be satisfied with the education provided through this nurse practitioner program.

My dilemma is this: Medical school is a long, long, arduous road. Especially considering my lack of the hard science prerequisite coursework (physics 1 and 2, chem 1 and 2, organic, biochem…you know, the whole shebang). Frankly, I’m intimidated by some of these prereqs, and concerned about the amount of time it would take to be application ready. I will also be working as a nurse (the good thing here is flexibility). Is it possible to complete these courses while working 3 days a week? Is this going to take years? Have I made a terrible mistake?

Also, one of the reasons that several people (including my primary care doc) have tried to dissuade me from medicine is that my interest is in primary care. Yes, I am part of the approximate 1% (kidding…) who does not want to specialize, but to actually work in a rural clinic. This is why the nurse practitioner role has been suggested to me so many times.