Frustrated, discouraged, and ready to give up....

I’m a 46 year old nuclear engineer, who has been trying to prepare for the MCATs. And I’m finding it essentially impossible. I’m struggling terribly with physics (even though I was a physics undergrad).

I’m not struggling because any particular topic is overly hard on the MCAT, it is because the test is designed to evaluate students who very clearly have been taught the material recently. In my case, when I started studying I’d not taken any physics classes since 1991, any biology or chemistry since 1987, or organic chemistry at all.

Tonight I had to spend over 8 hours on electrostatics, and I’m not done yet. I took advanced E&M classes in the 1990 time period, but have not used them, and cannot even remember the basics any more. I’m literally not “reviewing”, I’m “relearning”.

I also stumbled into circuits, where I’m completely at a standstill again. I took an electronics class in 1991, and did great, but again, I’ve not used it and it is gone. And worse, Kaplan insists on me memorizing a good half-dozen different equations on capacitors alone. For me to study that and do a bunch of problem with all the permutations will be another good couple of days.

I’m finding it almost impossible to keep my morale up. There’s too much material to cover, and it seems like it is a nearly impossible effort to try and resuscitate material that has not been visited in 25+ years.

I hate to say it, but I’m thinking about giving up. I’ve been killing myself for 9 months, but I don’t think I’m even close. Physics is a complete disaster. Chemistry is about half reviewed, and I’m taking organic and biology. What is particularly frustrating is that I’ve been a highly successful nuclear engineering professional for nearly 20 years, I’ve done sterling in my classes, and when I read many of the texts used in medical schools, I really don’t find it that bad.