Frustrated NonTrad needs advice

Hi! I am so excited to have found this website. I apologize in advice for making my first post a whining/advice thread. First, my demographics: I am 27, married with 4 children under 7. I have my LPN license and have been working in the medical field for 5 years. I’ve always wanted to be a doctor but because I got married and had children so young and I wasn’t strong in high school academics I figured that ship had sailed. It was at the urging of my mother and husband that I finally realized it’s never too late, and now I’m ready to go full steam ahead. But I don’t know how. I’m stymied.

I applied to a private university for my undergraduate work but did not get accepted because I did not have SAT/ACT scores. Essentially, I was laughed off the campus. Although I graduated with my Regents degree from high school, I did not sit the standardized exams because I never intended on going to college. I figured I may go to community college and get an Associate’s degree or do a 2+2 program and not have to worry about the tests, maybe not, college wasn’t really a priority when I was 18… but I did attend CC for one semester. I actually did fairly well even though I didn’t follow through. I have 18 undergrad credits and a 3.4 GPA but that’s not enough to be considered a transfer student for the private university. I was advised to go back to the community college for another semester and come back with at least 24 transferrable credits.