Future Non-Trad w/ 3.45 Grad GPA. ADVICE NEEDED!!!

Hi All,

I am a recent Grad student that graduated with a 3.45 gpa (2010). My undergrad gpa was a 2.89 (2005). I have 'A’s in Organic and General Chem (community college), B in Physics I, C in Physics II (both community college), a B in Biology I and a C in Biology II (commubity college), an B in English and a C in English II, I have a C in stats ( both grad and undergrad), and grad Anantomy a B. Both human Anatomy (C lec, B lab- undergrad) and Human Physiology (D lec, B lab- undergrad). Since I have proven myself in graduate school, MS in Kinesiology & Double Major undergrad Kinesiology/ Nutriton), will I have to take all if the basic sciences over? Also, if I do take them over at a community college how will these grades be looked upon compared to a univeristy? Do, I even have a chance at being accepted? Also, I am a single mother of one that could really use some input on parents who are in medical school. I just want to know am I wasting my time?

It is my opinion that in order to be competitive for medical school you will need to either re-take basic sciences or take additional upper level. If you are considering the DO route, re-takes in the basic science would be best due to grade replacement.

Generally speaking med school don’t care a whole lot about grad GPAs.

The CC vs. 4 yr. university debate is ongoing. I tend to land on the side of 4-yr but others don’t.

I believe realistically you are looking at a 2 year plan to raise you undergrad cGPA/sGPA a fair amount above the 3.0 mark. Below 3.0 is a hard sell to adcoms.

Other may feel free to chime in but those are my thoughts.

Thanks for the advice. As far as not grad school gpa into account, why not? Would this not show the maturity growth from undergrad?

A good grad school GPA is still a good thing and would positively affect your application.

However, your uGPA largely still has a greater impact on your application’s success.