General Questions from Newbie-- PLEASE HELP!

Hello All,

Pleae allow me to apologize beforehand for the length of this post. I am new to this forum (though I have read and enjoyed a few posts before completely ‘registering’).

I have what I’m sure is more typical dilemma than I realize:

Here’s my situation:

I am currently in a [rather successful] arts administration career (for the last 6-7 years). I am a clasically trained musician who was forced from performing (and a professional residency) by the neuro-muscular disorder Focal Dystonia. No wind/brass musician (I’m a tuba player) is known to have recovered from this disorder to date. My neurologist has told me that I will probably never play again, and if I do, that it will almost certainly not be at the level I had been accustomed to before developing the disorder.

Because of my knowledge and training I, naturally, gravitated to the artistic administration side of ‘the business’. I felt I needed (in some way) to be around music and the ‘creative process’. Imagine my surprise (and dismay quite frankly) when (just last year) I began to realize that being in artistic administration wasn’t REALLY satisfying me… not nearly in the way that being a performer and applied teacher had… That was a hard truth I hated admitting to myself-- with all of the extensive training I have undergone in music I felt I had ‘cheated’ or betrayed music somehow…

I began to step back and truly ask myself some tough questions, and I realized that I love to do something that can directly and immediately contribute to and impact a person’s life and well-being. At the same time I need something that will challenge me to be the best “me” I could be-- something that would stimulate my intellect and thirst for knowledge and skills, but that would also allow me to potentially affect people’s lives in the way that I want.