Georgetown Pre-Bacc-- did I make a huge mistake?

I graduated from college in '08, and after finally getting a medical issue under control I’ve got the time and energy to pick my pre-med back up. Exciting, right? Nothing better than getting a re-do.

Since I live in DC, I chose to apply to and was accepted by Georgetown. I considered the UVM program, especially, but wanted to stay where my support network was.

Long story short (and to quote Job Bluth): I think I made a huge mistake.

Georgetown seemed to have the best “name” in DC, but it’s been godawful at getting back to me. Since being accepted in December no one has returned my calls or emails, and last week I finally received a note from the dean telling me to register for Chemistry this summer. I chose a formal program to give me the best shot at med school, expecting advising and a tailored program, but that doesn’t seem to be the case here.

Before I shell out the tuition (which, again, they haven’t told me, but I’m guessing it’s the price of a reasonable new car), I’d love to hear from some alums (alas, my request to have Georgetown put me in touch with them has gone unanswered). I’m ok being my own academic advocate, but

I don’t want two years of uphill battles for the price.

Annieb

Sorry to hear the story. I understand your concern. Sometimes, the best programs are run by the most arrogant people (i.e. Harvard doesn’t go out of its way to impress students they interview, type in harvard med girl in google and read her blog).

I don’t know for that program. If it has great reputation, somehow I wouldn’t be surprised if they acted a bit arrogantly. Why don’t you go directly and talk to these folks, to make sure that everything is alright. Even better, go and catch some current students.

Good luck and let us know.