getting LOR from a dr

I need some input about getting a LOR. I work at Johns Hopkins hospital as a medical social worker—I counsel patients on emotional issues, adjustment to illness, grief/loss, discharge planning, substance abuse, nursing home placements, etc. It's been a great opportunity to work in a hospital and to work as a team with the doctors and all the various allied professionals (PT, RT, nursing, etc).
On the service that I'm assigned to, I work closely with the interns, and occasionally with residents. I don't cross paths with the attendings very often. A lot of the other social workers at the hospital work have more contact with the attendings, but that just isn't how my particular service is structured.
I'd like to try and get a LOR from a doctor here, and I think given that I work in a hospital, it will look bad if I don't have one. But I'm feeling stuck since most of the attendings would barely recognize me if they passed me in the hallway. I'm thinking my only choices are 1) get one from an intern–they are doctors after all, and are familiar with me and my work or 2) approach an attending who I barely know. Neither one seems like a great option----any suggestions?

would it be possible to get one of the interns you know to write and sign it and ask for the chair of the department to co-sign it? This would seem to achieve both purposes - someone you know writes it, but it is validated by someone of more academic stature.

Hi Beth,