Give up my career? Start over at 33? You bet!

Hi all: I am new to this site. It is great to know I’m not out of my mind to want to jettison a satisfying career to start on the med school path this far into my adult life.
Anyway, I want to introduce myself and share where I’m coming from.
At this point, I am looking for a postbac program that will offer me small classes and lots of support. I am a decent student, with a 3.3 GPA undergrad and close to a 4.0 in my MA program. But in high school and college I avoided math and science, just because I was more interested in literature and history. And playing.
After graduating with an English BA in '96 from Boise State U, I spent several years underemployed. Five of them were as a clerk in the X-Ray dept of a large hospital. At that point, I started thinking I would like to be a doctor. But daunted by my lack of background, and unaware that there was such a thing as a postbac program, I decided to become a high school teacher instead. We all take detours!
After taking courses for certification, I taught English and Spanish for 3 years. Then, realizing I really wanted to be in medicine, I made an abrupt and very wise career shift. I now am a medical writer, making evidence based medicine understandable for “the average Joe.” I work with all kinds of doctors every day and get paid well to read medical research and learn cool stuff. I am amazed at how much I love the medicine and the people I work with!
But now I am ready to give it up to become a physician myself. I am just now finishing an MA in eduction–just in time to go back to being an undergrad all over again.
I wish I could go to med school tomorrow. But I have to swallow my pride (and fear of failing) and take the math and science courses I missed. This will mean risking so much–a cross country move, more student loans, probable separation from my significant other, and the lurking possibility deep down that somehow I could fail at this in spite of my best efforts.