Glad to be back and Questions

My name is Kevin, and I first found this site before it was even on SDN. I have been away for a couple of years, but my passion has been and always will be medicine. I met some of you when the convention was here in Dallas.
Here is my scenario. I am a medical lab technician with over 9 years experience ranging from family practice lab manager(twice) to long-term care hospital(currently). My medical lab training came from the Air Force Reserves, and few traditional colleges will give me the credits (72 hours) that I earned. However, The University of Cincinnati has an online MLT to MT Bachelor of Science completion program that will accept my credits. Now, my question to those who have gone before into medical school is, can I take the pre-req science classes at a community college and still have a fighting chance, or do I need to just buckle up and go to a local university for those ? I would appreciate any feedback.

Hi Kevin,
Congratulations on your decision to pursue this path!
You may get different opinions regarding Communty college vs. Univ.
I started on this process last summer and from what I’ve seen, as non trads who have been out of school for a while, its in our best interest to prove that we are still as academically competent as any other good traditional candidate to med school. Attending a competetive state, private univetrsity and making good grades is certainly a good way to prove that. If you can, why not make your application solid? Some universitites give tution breaks if you are employed even on a part time basis.
People have attended community colelges and secured admission to med schools. But there are far fewer in number than those who attended established universitites.
So, if you can work around financial and geographic constraints and find a good school you can go to, i’d say go for it. It’s worth the investment. The bottom line is to make a solid case for yourself and get into a med school. Good Luck!
Scout