going back after phd and years out

Hi to all,

First off, I should mention that I have found this forum and the participants very helpful over the past few months as I have begun to consider seriously moving to medicine. The forum has given me a bit of hope that someone in my position (i.e. Old @ 33, 34 in two months!) could pursue this route. So, thanks!

My question is general and probably one that has been answered several times over, but I will propose it anyhow. I am currently a professor of psychology. I received my PhD in 2002 (biological psychology/behavioral and cognitive neuroscience) and have been in academia since. My academic career has proved successful with many publications and books, etc. Because, however, my degrees (undergrad and PhD) are in psychology, I do not have many of the pre-med requirements; I had to learn most of this myself in grad school. For example, the chemistry sequence and physics I don’t officially have on my transcripts. I have taught as a prof in a biology department for the past 2 years, but am moving back to a psych dept this coming fall. The main reason I am thinking along this path: I have become disenchanted with academia and feel I have missed a calling to help people. One of the greatest enjoyments in my current position is the ability to help students (professionally and personally). I am weighing my options between going for an advanced degree in clinical psych or returning for medicine, that latter of which appeals to me because of my interests in the biological sciences/neuroscience. I have always been very interested in the osteopathic approach and would almost certainly only apply to DO programs.