Graduated with Degree in Business, Desiring a Change of Direction

Hello, as the title of this topic states, I graduated college with a business degree and I am trying to switch directions to the medical field. My grades were lacking in college mostly because of a lack of interest in business courses. I graduated with a 2.7 GPA. I would like to know if anyone has advice for me about how exactly to go about this desired change. Would a second bachelor’s in biology or pre-med be a choice I should consider? or would a “do-it-yourself” informal post-bac pre-med program be the preferred option? Is there anything else I should consider? I am open to all forms of advice, as I really feel lost right now in the business world. Thanks.

Welcome to OPM .

The first thing to ask yourself, I think, is whether you’re running to medicine or from business. At some point fairly early in this path - and frequently throrughout - you’ll want to reassess things to be sure that this is truly the path for you.

Of course, sometimes that can be hard to say for sure, especially early on. What type of medical experience/exposure do you have? What makes you want to start this marathon?

You have some good ideas on the route already. I am an advocate of an informal post-bacc. Having graduated with a 2.5 (in Psych) and worked for ~5 years, I started back at school part time and move to full. I ended up taking about 1.5 years of part time coursework and 1-year of full time.

You’ll also want to get some medical experience. Do what you can to find shadowing, volunteer options, or whatever can get you some exposure to the field. These can be surprisingly tricky to nail down - but again, you’ll definitely want to be sure this is the path for you.

In the meantime, peruse the forums here - there’s a lot of great info. And good luck!