Great site! Looking for info/advice

Hello!

First off - what a great site! I just stumbled upon this during a random Google search and I’m so glad I did!

Here’s my situation: I’m currently due to receive my Master of Public Health degree in Global Maternal and Child Health next year (complete coursework in May and internship by September). Before starting grad school I worked for 3 years doing HIV and alcohol abuse prevention in homeless clinics, and I spent this summer in Kenya working with HIV/AIDS programs. While I was there it really hit me that I could do so much more if I had a clinical degree - which I always kind of wanted, but didn’t really see as possible.

I really rushed through undergrad (working class kid at a snooty school and the other students drove me insane), and as a result, I graduated in 3 years… with an odd major and random classes (BS in Biological Anthropology & Latin American Studies). I had a lot of science classes, but not really any med school prereqs. For example, I took Physiology, Functional Morphology, Osteology, Biological Basis of Disease… but not Bio 101!

So now I’m a bit stuck and wondering about a lot of things:

1. Do any of those classes count for anything?

2. I know regardless I’ll need to take catch-up classes in Chemistry (General & Organic), Physics, and probably more Bio. Are there programs designed specifically for that kind of thing? Or would my best bet be to just try to organize it on my own through whatever college is closest/cheapest?

And also… would it make any sense to get a nursing degree first and then go to med school? I know of lots of accelerated nursing programs - do you think I could fulfill my prereqs that way? If so that would be great because I’d be able to work in nursing if need be with more flexible hours than public health.