Harvard Extension- HCP

Hello hello!

This is my first post! It’s quite exciting and reassuring to know there are sites like these!

Upon reading a lot of the posts, I came up with some questions of my own to those who’ve attended Harvard Ext and some general questions. If I ask a question that has already been answered, please feel free to let me know that it has been and/or kindly direct me!

Other than that, here i go:

1. I graduated from UCLA as a Communications/Film major with 3.9. I’m currently looking into this program and several others and I’m immensely worried that I will be at a disadvantage. I worked in the entertainment field for awhile and haven’t done math/science in awhile!

With that said, I was wondering if there were any students who graduated with a BA (or any other non-science/math majors) who took classes at the Harvard Ext program? If so, how do you feel about the coursework? How mcuh do I need to brush up for the classes? Do you feel as though you’re at a disadvantage?

Some honest feedback would be greatly appreciated. I would hate to move all the way to Cambridge from LA, get a reality check and be one of those unfortunate people who contribute to the attrition rate.

2. Once I apply to this program and get “accepted,” do the admin office send any info that’ll prep me with info of what to come and what sort of classes I should take? How helpful are the instructors and advisors? I’m fairly independent but considering i’m a newbie, I would love some sort of direction.

3. For those who decided to attend the Harvard Ext instead of the other Post-Baccs (such as Bryn Mawr, Goucher, any other formally structred programs)- why Harvard Ext?

4. Anyone move from Cali to Cambridge? If so, I would love to talk to you!

5. Would anyone care to share your stats? - Those who appled to HES, and ended up staying till the end?

6. to those who went to med school upon going to a post bac, if you had to do anything differently, what would you change?