Has anybody heard of any dentists going into medicine?

I am a 36 year old dentist and can not get the idea out of my head to go back to med school. Am I crazy? Yes. I have a 1 yr old and a 3 year old. I have my own solo practice I purchased 2 years ago, an awesome newly remodeled clinic, a good income, my husband is a stay at home father, and I see patients Mon-Thur. However, the business is 24/7 with me being on call all the time and the pressure is tremendous. The other thing is that I love the medical aspects of my patients, learning about their medical conditions, meds, etc. There are aspects of dentistry that bore me to tears, ie, fillings.

Going to med school would mean spending as much money as I already spent on my dental ed and starting all over again. I know the challenges as we took many of the same classes in the first two years of dental school as the med students. I went into dentistry for what I thought would be great quality of life, but I have found it to be a very stressful and the procedures too boring. Am I crazy? Yes, but I can’t help it. I dream of being an ENT and I think dentistry would be a great background for it. My other option is oral surgery but I don’t want to be limited to just that, I would like all my options if in med school I change my mind about specialties.

I would love any feedback.

Hi there,

One of my medical school classmates was a dentist. He ended up going into Internal Medicine and is now finishing his Interventional Cardiology fellowship.

While you took some of the same classes as the medical students, at my school, there were significant differences. While in medical school, I was a paid peer tutor for the dental students in Gross Anatomy,Biochemistry, Physiology and Pathology. I ended up learning a fair amount of oral pathology as I got up to speed in order to tutor.

My classmate worked as a dentist on vacations and on weekends after exams. It was a great means of making extra money.

Good luck!

Natalie