Have I made a mistake on how I planned to get clinical experience?

I am currently 28 years old and am active duty Air Force as an aircraft mechanic. Before I enlisted I did attempt college at a 4 year university and then a community college both of which I was a biology major at and both of which I was academically dismissed from (I have a total of 12 credit hours between these two). After that I decided that maybe premed wasn’t for me and I decided to not go back to the 4 year university (since the dismissal was only for a year and I was then eligible to return) since I was only hurting my grades more and I obviously needed to try something else. I worked in a hospital for a couple years basically doing house keeping with little to no interaction with patients, and then I enlisted. After being in for 8 months I returned from my first deployment confident that I wanted to return to my premed goals. I passed on the chance to participate in a flying crew chief role so that I could start taking classes as a biology major. Unfortunately my work schedule prevented me from taking classes in person, so as an alternative I enrolled in UMUC and am currently pursing an online B.S. in Health Services Management. I knew going in that this meant I would need to take post bacc classes for my science courses but after discussing with a friend who is a OB/GYN, and another friend who is currently a surgical resident I knew that attempting to take science classes online would be useless for medical school applications so I would have to suck it up, and hopefully work as a healthcare administrator while completing a postbacc. I’ve heard the saying “if you’re close enough to smell a patient, it’s clinical experience” so I was under the thinking that I could count working as a healthcare admin as clinical experience, but after bingeing on your podcast I’m thinking I’ve really made a mistake. I’ve also read on some of the student doctor forums that some post baccs require clinical and r