Haven't taken O-Chem, Biochem or Psych/sociology

Hello,

I am a second year premed student studying in Canada. I have decent extracurriculars, I have worked jobs that show growth and personal development on my resume. I have applied for many jobs on campus and extracurricular opportunities within my program department.

As I matriculated into a new program in my second year, I wasn’t able to take MCAT content courses such as psychology, sociology, and biochemistry. I did attempt to complete organic chemistry I, but dropped the course before I would face an academic penalty. I have successfully completed a full year course in biology, general chemistry. I’m currently enrolled in molecular biology II, I am enrolled in introductory physics I with lab.

I plan to learn all the MCAT content with the Princeton review books, use Anki as active learning, use UWorld as active recall, buy the AAMC practice tests and interweave my three free Princeton review tests while I practice my testing. I’ve already mapped out my weeks I will take to study, and I will be using the Kaplan MCAT summary to cover all bases.

Please feel free to give me any feedback and/or tips you have! I look forward to some replies hopefully.

Hi, Great that you are asking for advice here! It is a smart move.

The following are proven study tips and preparation strategies for improving performance on the MCAT.

-Start early.
-Begin your actual test preparation a 2 to 6 months prior to the test. Six months before test day take an initial diagnostic practice exam to see where you’re at.
-Do practice problems.
-The best way to enhance your critical thinking ability, as it relates to MCAT performance, is to do practice problems.
-Complete practice tests.