Hello All! (Questions Inside!)

I am new to OPM and first off I am very excited to see such a support group of like minded people who desire to go into medicine even though we are older than some.

I am 28 years old and I have worked as an X-ray Technologist for 5 years at a cancer center in central Florida.

I have an AS degree in Radiology, but I still need to finish a class or two to have my AA from a community college so I can transfer to USF. My AS degree is from a private school so I doubt I could enter USF with just that degree but I do not know as of yet.

I am currently married with 3 children. I am the primary income maker in my house at this time. To make it on just my wife’s income would require a drastic reduction in our expenses (primarily coming from our place of residence which we are renting). On just her income alone we would pretty much be down to poverty level but I am not afraid to do this if it needs be. My only worry is the type of environment my family would need to live around along with the difficulty of maintaining a reliable vehicle.

So here come the questions…

1: Do student loans that are available to all students (not loans that require a credit check) offer any wiggle room for living expenses?

2: Does a premed/medical student need to have decent credit to get loans necessary for graduation? My credit is terrible and I am actually on the point of bankruptcy to get my credit cleaned up. I worry how this might impact my future in trying to get into med school but my fear might not be grounded in reality.

3: I am working full time but I need to retake all of my premed classes that I have taken (only have taken both A&P’s both Bio’s and both Chem’s. No Organics but two withdrawal’s from physics) as they are all 7 years old and only carried at that time a 2.8 GPA.