Hello all

I am tired at work so I will jsut copy my post from another forum to tell you my story an da little of my background… cheers

I am a 29 (30 in Nov) mother of 3, I have a degree and a job in Information techonology but have begun to pursue my degree in psychology with an emphasis on pre-med electives. Yes, I want to be a psychiatrist, I know all you science types put no faith in psychiatry. Anyway, I work full time on the weekends (3 14 hour night shifts), raise my children during the week and take a full 12-14 credits a semester with a 3.97 GPA at both the University and the Community college level. I have just finished my last general ed class at the community college and have started my upper level Psych classes at the University of Texas at Dallas, I am hoping to end up at UT Southwestern so I don’t have to uproot my family. I started a community program to bring food, gifts and support to the families in the NICU and PICU at the local children’s hospital. I have an infant born with HLHS (hypoplastic left heart syndrome) and spent a good deal of time there myself. I also spend a great deal of time and effort with the AHA and March of Dimes raising anywhere from $1000 - $5000 each year.

Why med school you ask? Well, for as long as I can remember I was against psychiatrists in favor of psychologists, as I found psychiatrist a little too pill happy, until I met my mother in law. She is someone that is in desperate need of help that regular couseling won’t help. I would like to work on medication studies to help her and people like her. Also, my coworker always tells me that the only way to change people who you feel are doing something wrong is to join them and show them the right way. So here I am, old, tired and driven.