Hello, and question about Brandeis post-bacc

Hi,
Glad to have discovered this site a few days ago. I have passed it on to a musician friend of mine who is working toward medical school.
It feels like I’ve been late with everything. I majored in Chinese studies, spent a couple of years in Taiwan, eventually finished my B.A. and M.A. and have spent the last 15 years as a computer programmer and part time musician.
At 42 I finally got married, and now on the verge of turning 45, unemployed and with very poor prospects in the computer field, I am wondering what to do with the rest of my life, even as we are about to have a child.
Though I’m unemployed, I have started a business out of my home to develop a voicemail product that could possibly make me a lot of money, or it could leave me broke after 4 long years of sixteen hour days. Just like medical school.
I’m a doctor’s son and he pushed me hard to go pre-med. Over the years he has reminded me of how much money I would have made had I become a doctor. Thanks, Dad.
I had toyed with the idea of medicine in years past but never thought very highly of the system or the people who went into it. My univ. was full of pre-meds, and the kind of people I met… well let’s just say they had dollar signs etched into their eyeballs. Some of them I definitely wouldn’t want for a doctor.
A number of years ago I got into a kind of guided meditation using sound waves to enhance the experience (http://www.monroeinstitute.org/) and went to a couple of week long retreats where I met people in the healing professions, including chiropractors, psychologists, massage therapists, energy healers, etc., all of whom were quite interested in enhancing their own healing skills and self-understanding through this kind of technology and meditative practice.